Glen Whisky: scotch or not?

Published onAugust 2018

The Scotch Whisky Association is a Scottish organisation protecting the trade in Scottish whisky both in Scotland and abroad. Taking the view that the marketing of a whisky under the designation ‘Glen Buchenbach’ (which is produced by the Waldhorn distillery in Berglen, located in the Buchenbach valley in Swabia, Germany) was infringing the geographical indication ‘Scotch Whisky’, it brought an action before the Landgericht Hamburg (Regional Court in Hamburg, Germany), which referred to the Court of Justice of the European Union for an interpretation of Article 16(a) to (c) of Regulation (EC) No 110/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 January 2008 on the definition, description, presentation, labelling and the protection of geographical indications of spirit drinks.

According to said article, “the geographical indications registered in Annex III shall be protected against:

  • a) Any direct or indirect commercial use in respect of products not covered by the registration in so far as those products are comparable to the spirit drink registered under that geographical indication or insofar as such use exploits the reputation of the registered geographical indication;
  • b) Any misuse, imitation or evocation, even if the true origin of the product is indicated or the geographical indication is used in translation or accompanied by an expression such as ‘like’, ‘type’, ‘style’, ‘made’, ‘flavour’ or any other similar term;
  • c) Any other false or misleading indication as to the provenance, origin, nature or essential qualities on the description, presentation or labelling of the product, liable to convey a false impression as to its origin”.

The questions referred to the Court for a preliminary ruling were designed to determine if a designation such as ‘Glen Buchenbach’, that does not include any element appearing close to the geographical indication ‘Scotch Whisky’, could be prohibited on the grounds of said geographical indication. In other words, may the designation ‘Glen Buchenbach’ be considered a direct or indirect commercial use of the GI ‘Scotch Whisky’, or an evocation of the GI ‘Scotch Whisky’, or a false or misleading indication in connection with the GI ‘Scotch Whisky’?

The decision of the Court of Justice in the Case C‑44/17, Scotch Whisky Association v Michael Klotz, was issued June 7th, 2018.

Reasonably, the Court held that for the purpose of establishing that there is ‘indirect commercial use’ of a registered geographical indication, the disputed element must be used in a form that is either identical to that indication or phonetically and/or visually similar to it, and that accordingly, it is not sufficient that that element is liable to evoke in the relevant public some kind of association with the indication concerned or the geographical area relating thereto. It means that the designation ‘Glen Buchenbach’ cannot be considered as an indirect (or direct for that matter) commercial use of the GI ‘Scotch Whisky’.

But may the designation ‘Glen Buchenbach’ be considered an evocation of the GI ‘Scotch Whisky’? It is not part of the Court’s prerogatives to give a straight positive or negative answer to that question. However, the Court explains how Article 16(b) of the Regulation must be interpreted by national courts. In order that there is an ‘evocation’ of a registered geographical indication, it is required to assess whether, when the average European consumer who is reasonably well informed and reasonably observant and circumspect is confronted with the disputed designation, the image triggered directly in his mind is that of the product whose geographical indication is protected. Since there is no visual or phonetic similarity between the disputed designation ‘Glen Buchenbach’ and the GI ‘Scotch Whisky’, account must be taken of the conceptual proximity, if any, between both.

For the Scotch Whisky Association, such conceptual proximity could result from the use of the word ‘Glen’, Scottish Gaelic for valley. On the other side, Mr. Klotz who markets the whisky under the designation ‘Glen Buchenbach’, considers that the other elements on the labels of the bottles are enough to establish the German origin of the whisky and avoid any confusion on the part of the consumer (“the label on the whisky bottles in question includes, in addition to a stylised depiction of a hunting horn (Waldhorn in German), the following information: ‘Waldhornbrennerei’ (Waldhorn distillery), ‘Glen Buchenbach’, ‘Swabian Single Malt Whisky’, ‘500 ml’, ‘40% vol’, ‘Deutsches Erzeugnis’ (German product), ‘Hergestellt in den Berglen’ (produced in the Berglen)”).

Such context is not significant for the Court, according to which, whether for the purpose of establishing that there is an ‘evocation’ of a registered geographical indication, or for the purpose of establishing that there is a ‘false or misleading indication’, account must not be taken of the context surrounding the disputed element or, in particular, of the fact that that element is accompanied by an indication of the true origin of the product concerned.

The Regional Court of Hamburg now has all arguments to rule on the case, or so it seems… But what about you? Does the designation ‘Glen Buchenbach’ make you think of Scotch Whisky?

© INSCRIPTA

Glen Whisky : écossais ou non ?

Publié en août 2018

La Scotch Whisky Association est une organisation écossaise qui veille à la protection du commerce du whisky écossais, tant en Écosse qu’à l’étranger. Estimant que la commercialisation d’un whisky allemand dénommé « Glen Buchenbach » (qui est produit par la distillerie Waldhorn, située dans les Berglen, dans la vallée de Buchenbach, en Souabe) portait atteinte à l’indication géographique protégée « Scotch Whisky », elle a saisi le Landgericht Hamburg (tribunal régional de Hambourg), qui a décidé d’en référer à la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne, aux fins d’interprétation de l’article 16, sous a) à c), du Règlement (CE) N°110/2008 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 15 janvier 2008 concernant la définition, la désignation, la présentation, l’étiquetage et la protection des indications géographiques des boissons spiritueuses.

Il résulte de ces dispositions que « les indications géographiques enregistrées à l’annexe III sont protégées contre :

  • a) Toute utilisation commerciale directe ou indirecte par des produits non couverts par l’enregistrement, dans la mesure où ces produits sont comparables à la boisson spiritueuse enregistrée sous cette indication géographique ou dans la mesure où cette utilisation exploite la réputation de l’indication géographique enregistrée ;
  • b) Toute usurpation, imitation ou évocation, même si la véritable origine du produit est indiquée ou si l’indication géographique est utilisée dans la traduction ou accompagnée d’une expression telle que « comme », « type », « style », « élaboré », « arôme » ou tout autre terme similaire ;
  • c) Toute autre indication fausse ou fallacieuse quant à la provenance, à l’origine, à la nature ou aux qualités substantielles du produit figurant dans la désignation, la présentation ou l’étiquetage du produit, de nature à créer une impression erronée sur l’origine».

L’enjeu des questions préjudicielles posées à la Cour de justice était donc de déterminer si une dénomination telle que « Glen Buchenbach », qui ne comporte a priori aucune mention proche de l’indication géographique protégée « Scotch Whisky », peut être interdite sur le fondement de la protection de cette indication géographique. En d’autres termes, la dénomination « Glen Buchenbach » peut-elle constituer une utilisation commerciale directe ou indirecte de l’IG « Scotch Whisky », ou bien une évocation de l’IG « Scotch Whisky », ou bien une indication fausse ou fallacieuse eu égard à l’IG « Scotch Whisky » ?

La Cour a rendu son arrêt le 7 juin 2018 (affaire C‑44/17, Scotch Whisky Association contre Michael Klotz).

Assez logiquement, la Cour estime que pour établir l’existence d’une « utilisation commerciale indirecte » d’une indication géographique enregistrée, il faut que l’élément litigieux soit utilisé sous une forme qui est soit identique à cette indication, soit similaire du point de vue phonétique et/ou visuel et que, dès lors, il n’est pas suffisant que cet élément soit susceptible d’éveiller dans l’esprit du public visé une quelconque association avec ladite indication ou avec la zone géographique y afférente. La dénomination « Glen Buchenbach » ne peut donc constituer une utilisation commerciale indirecte (ou a fortiori directe) de l’IG « Scotch Whisky ».

La dénomination « Glen Buchenbach » est-elle susceptible d’évoquer l’indication « Scotch Whisky » ? Ce n’est pas le rôle de la Cour que de donner une réponse positive ou négative. Elle livre en revanche son interprétation de l’article 16 sous b) du Règlement et indique la marche à suivre pour statuer. Pour qu’il y ait évocation d’une indication géographique protégée, il convient d’apprécier si le consommateur européen moyen, normalement informé et raisonnablement attentif et avisé, en présence de la dénomination litigieuse, est amené à avoir directement à l’esprit, comme image de référence, la marchandise bénéficiant de l’indication géographique protégée. Et, dès lors qu’il n’existe pas de proximité visuelle ou auditive entre la dénomination litigieuse « Glen Buchenbach » et l’IG « Scotch Whisky », il conviendra de tenir compte de la proximité conceptuelle entre les deux.

En l’espèce, la Scotch Whisky Association estime que cette proximité conceptuelle est susceptible de résulter de l’utilisation du terme « Glen », d’origine gaélique et qui signifie vallée. En défense, M. Klotz qui commercialise le whisky « Glen Buchenbach », estime que les autres mentions entourant le nom du produit sont suffisantes à établir la provenance allemande du whisky sans qu’il y ait de doute pour le consommateur (« l’étiquette apposée sur les bouteilles de whisky en cause comporte, outre le dessin stylisé d’un cor de chasse (Waldhorn en langue allemande), les informations suivantes, à savoir « Waldhornbrennerei » (distillerie Waldhorn), « Glen Buchenbach », « Swabian Single Malt Whisky » (whisky single malt souabe), « 500 ml », « 40 % vol », « Deutsches Erzeugnis » (produit allemand) et « Hergestellt in den Berglen » (fabriqué dans les Berglen) »).

Cette circonstance est cependant indifférente selon la Cour qui estime que, que ce soit pour établir l’existence ou non d’une évocation d’une indication géographique protégée, ou pour établir l’existence ou non d’une indication fausse ou fallacieuse, il n’y a pas lieu de tenir compte du contexte entourant l’élément litigieux et, notamment, du fait que celui-ci est assorti d’une précision concernant la véritable origine du produit concerné.

Désormais, le tribunal régional de Hambourg dispose donc en théorie de tous les éléments lui permettant de prendre sa décision… Et vous, qu’en pensez-vous ? La dénomination « Glen Buchenbach » vous fait-elle penser à du whisky écossais ou non ?

© INSCRIPTA