IP protection for recipes and culinary creations in France?

Published onSeptember 2019

Whereas European case law considers that a taste of food cannot be protected by copyright (see our article here), a new Intellectual Property title could be created to protect culinary creations: the culinary creation certificate.

This is the purpose of a law proposal introduced on April 30, 2019, aiming at protecting both recipes and cooking creations.

Closing the legislative gap

The law “does not offer real protection of the recipes of our terroir and our traditions“. It is consequently suggested to create a new institution, the “Foundation for French gastronomy”, whose mission would be to list French traditional recipes, protect them and identify restaurant owners who respect them.

In this regard, let us recall that EU law already offers the possibility of protecting traditional recipes with a sign of European quality, the Traditional Speciality Guaranteed (TSG), which refers to a product for which the specific qualities are related to a composition, methods of manufacturing or processing based on a tradition. The recipe for the Neapolitan pizza, for example, is protected by a TSG.

Protecting culinary creations

A new industrial property title would be created, valid for 20 years, that would be issued by the National Institute of Culinary Creation. The certificate would be granted to “new culinary creations involving a creative activity and demonstrating an individual gustatory character“. The author would enjoy moral and economic rights (similar to what is provided by the droit d’auteur or French copyright), the counterfeiting of which could be sanctioned by the courts.

After the geographical indication protecting industrial and artisanal products (here), this law proposal clearly shows the French stated intention to value and defend its assets.

© INSCRIPTA

Créations culinaires | Bientôt une protection par la propriété intellectuelle en France ?

Publié en septembre 2019

Alors que la jurisprudence communautaire considère qu’une saveur ne peut être protégée par le droit d’auteur (voir notre article ici), un nouveau titre de propriété intellectuelle pourrait être créé pour protéger les recettes de cuisine : le certificat de création culinaire.

Tel est le sens d’une proposition de loi présentée le 30 avril 2019, qui a pour double objectif la protection des recettes et des créations culinaires.

Combler le vide juridique

Le droit actuel « ne permet pas en l’état d’offrir une protection réelle des recettes de cuisine de notre terroir et de nos traditions ». Il s’agirait donc de créer une nouvelle institution, la « Fondation pour la gastronomie française », qui aurait pour mission de répertorier les recettes traditionnelles, de les protéger et d’identifier les restaurateurs qui respectent la recette ancestrale.

Rappelons que le droit communautaire propose déjà la possibilité de protéger des recettes traditionnelles par un signe de qualité européen, la Spécialité traditionnelle garantie (STG), qui correspond à un produit dont les qualités spécifiques sont liées à une composition, des méthodes de fabrication ou de transformation fondées sur une tradition. La recette de la pizza Napolitaine par exemple, est protégée par une STG.

Protéger les créations culinaires

Il est proposé de créer un nouveau titre de propriété industrielle, valable 20 ans, qui serait délivré par l’Institut national de la création culinaire. Seraient certifiables « les créations culinaires nouvelles impliquant une activité créatrice et démontrant un caractère gustatif propre », et ce titre confèrerait un droit moral à son créateur, ainsi que des droits patrimoniaux, dont l’atteinte serait sanctionnée par une action en contrefaçon devant les tribunaux.

Après les indications géographiques protégeant les produits industriels et artisanaux (voir nos articles, notamment ici), cette proposition de loi montre clairement la volonté française de valoriser et défendre son savoir-faire.

© INSCRIPTA