Royalty for a patent: what do you really pay for?

Published onSeptember 2016

The Court of Justice of the European Union issued a very important decision last summer that may very well prove disturbing for individuals and companies committed into IP licence agreements (CJEU, 7 July 2016, case C‑567/14).

The case is rather complex and includes several proceedings in different countries since 2008 and originates in a patent licence agreement signed in 1992.

A German company (Behringwerke AG) had originally granted a worldwide non-exclusive licence to an American company (Genentech Inc.) for the use of a technology (a human cytomegalovirus enhancer), said technology being the subject of a European patent and two U.S. patents. Royalties were threefold, a one-off fee when the agreement was signed, a fixed annual fee and a running royalty.

The licensee paid the one-off fee and regularly paid the fixed annual fee but never paid the running royalty to the patentee (German company Hoechst GmbH, the successor company to Behringwerke AG). In 2008, a subsidiary of the patentee (German company Sanofi-Aventis Deutschland GmbH) asked details about the products marketed by the American company in order to assess the amount of the running royalty. The licensee Genentech replied by terminating the licence agreement. Soon afterwards German companies brought an action before the U.S. courts for infringement of the licensed patents whereas the American company brought an action for revocation of those patents still in the U.S. Parallel to these proceedings, the patentee Hoechst initiated arbitration proceedings against the licensee for the payment of royalties.

U.S. courts dismissed the actions of both parties whereas, in 2013, the arbitrator issued a decision against the licensee Genentech ordering it to pay more than EUR 108 million in damages. An appeal was lodged against the arbitral award before the Court of Appeals of Paris which decided to stay the proceedings and to refer a question to the Court of Justice for a preliminary ruling.

The issue was the following. Literally interpreting the licence agreement, the licensee took the view that it was not required to pay the running royalty proportional to the use of the technology since (a) the technology was not was present in the finished products marketed by the licensee and (b) the use of the technology was not infringing the licensed patents.

Apart from the IP side of the matter, the American company considered that the payment of a running royalty in the absence of any infringement would imposes on it unjustified expenses in breach of Article 101 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union which prohibits agreements which restrict competition within the internal market.

Well, to simplify the ruling of the Court, there is nothing problematic in being contractually bound to pay a patent royalty even though you do not use the patented technology.

In the language of the CJEU, it reads as follows: “Article 101(1) TFEU must be interpreted as not precluding the imposition on the licensee, under a licence agreement such as that at issue in the main proceedings, of a requirement to pay a royalty for the use of a patented technology for the entire period in which that agreement was in effect, in the event of the revocation or non-infringement of a licenced patent, provided that the licensee was able freely to terminate that agreement by giving reasonable notice”.

The Court also reminds that, when a licence agreement can be terminated by the licensee, “the obligation to pay a royalty, even after the expiry of the period of validity of the licensed patent, may reflect a commercial assessment of the value to be attributed to the possibilities of exploitation granted by the licence agreement” (CJEU, 12 May 1989, Ottung, case 320/87). In other words, since a licensee may enter a licence agreement for other reasons than just for obtaining the authorization to use specific IP titles or IP rights, the obligation to pay a royalty is not exclusively related to said IP rights.

One might think about all complements usually surrounding the grant of a licence, such as know-how transmission, technology transfer, technical cooperation, business or commercial partnership, trade secrets communication, etc. Such elements may appear of lesser importance at first but they may very well be of crucial interest for the licensee in the end. It may even be that such elements have more value to the licensee than the patent or the patented technology itself.

There is nothing wrong here and it is even a good thing that the Court takes into account the business relationships between the patentee and the licensee from a global and economic point of view. But is the Court not going too far when stating that the “royalty is the price to be paid for commercial exploitation of the licensed technology with the guarantee that the licensor will not exercise its industrial-property rights”?

We do believe so. It is one thing to admit that a patent licence is not only a patent licence, it is another thing to admit that the royalty is only a sort of insurance premium of non-infringement, a sort of price to pay to get peace from the patentee. It would be missing the main reason for paying a royalty. You pay a royalty because you believe what you pay for has value. That is why we do hope that this finding of the Court will remain isolated and within the context of this specific ruling.

But even in the context of this specific case, this finding is questionable. In this case, the licensee took the view that it did not infringe the IP rights of the patentee. In theory, the licensee was consequently paying a royalty for a technology that was not covered by an IP right. So how can one say that the royalty is the price to pay to avoid an IP infringement action whereas, in the absence of IP right, there can be no IP infringement action?

The fact remains that the decisive criterion for the Court is that the licence agreement can be terminated freely (by giving reasonable notice). It is in fact a way to make licensees aware of their responsibilities. And the Court must be approved for that. After all, if the licensee does think he is not infringing the licence-granted IP rights, he must take responsibility for himself and his actions, terminate the agreement and maybe face the patentee before the courts. On the contrary, if the licensee accepts to pay a royalty for the use of a technology that it does not really use, it is the licensee’s responsibility alone and it cannot hide behind competition law to prevent the enforcement of the agreement.

In this case, the opinion of the Advocate General was clearer perhaps because it only focused on the main question which was the applicability of competition law to the contested licence agreement. The Advocate General did not suggest any interpretation on the nature or definition of a royalty. The Advocate General reminded that, according to the arbitral award that it is not in his power to criticize, “Genentech’s obligation to pay royalties flowed not from the use of a technology protected by valid patents, but from the licence agreement alone” and that “the commercial purpose of the licence agreement was to avert patent litigation and, in consequence, the calculation of royalties was wholly independent of the existence or otherwise of a valid patent over the finished product”. In fact, the payment of the royalty was in a way disconnected or unrelated to IP rights in this case and this is the reason why the licensee could not refrain from paying the royalty for the sole reason that it was not using the patented technology.

What you need to remember

The Court’s decision and more generally the case itself must be seen as a warning for licensees or future licensees. Of course, all aspects and all provisions of a licence agreement must be treated and negotiated carefully. However, three main points are clearly decisive.

One, when negotiating the licence agreement, you need to pay great attention to the provisions defining and determining the royalty and the basis for the royalty. Moreover, if the licence agreement is mainly motivated by a patented technology, it would be wise to make the payment of the royalty dependent of the validity of the patent.

Two, you should not overlook non-competition clauses that are often included in the licence agreement to prevent the licensee to try and bypass the patented technology because such clauses may significantly increase the undertakings of the licensee.

Three, during the implementation of the licence agreement and as long as the licence agreement remains effective, you need to regularly assess the strategic, commercial or industrial interest and value of the agreement.

And of course, as a licensee, you should not hesitate to terminate a licence agreement when the granted IP title or IP right is no longer of interest. In such circumstances, you should at least try and renegotiate the licence agreement to bring back some balance between the granted IP rights and the real use you are making of them.

© INSCRIPTA

Redevance de licence de brevet: le prix à payer mais pour quoi ?

Publié en septembre 2016

La Cour de justice de l’Union européenne a rendu cet été un arrêt (CJUE, 7 juillet 2016, affaire C‑567/14) qui risque de bousculer certaines croyances et habitudes des entreprises et des individus qui ont signé des accords de licence de titres de propriété industrielle (brevets, marques, modèles, etc.).

L’affaire est relativement complexe et se décompose en plusieurs procédures dans différents pays depuis huit ans, sa source étant un contrat de licence de brevet signé en 1992.

Une société allemande (Behringwerke AG) avait concédé à une société américaine (Genentech Inc.) une licence non exclusive mondiale pour l’utilisation d’une technologie (un activateur dérivé du cytomegalovirus humain) qui a fait l’objet d’un brevet européen et de deux brevets américains. En contrepartie de cette licence, la société américaine devait payer une triple redevance (une redevance unique à la signature du contrat, une redevance annuelle fixe et une redevance annuelle proportionnelle).

La société américaine s’est acquittée de la redevance unique et de la redevance annuelle fixe mais n’a jamais versé de redevance proportionnelle à la société concédante (Hoechst GmbH, venue aux droits de Behringwerke AG). En 2008, la filiale du breveté (Sanofi-Aventis Deutschland GmbH) a interrogé l’exploitant sur les produits commercialisés pour comprendre pourquoi la part variable de la redevance n’était pas payée. La société américaine a répondu en demandant la résiliation de la licence. Et il ne fallut alors pas longtemps pour que le breveté agisse en contrefaçon de brevet contre le licencié et que le licencié réplique en sollicitant la nullité des brevets devant les tribunaux américains. Le breveté actionnait en parallèle la clause d’arbitrage prévue au contrat pour le paiement de ses redevances.

Les parties furent déboutées de leurs actions aux Etats-Unis tandis qu’en 2013, la société américaine Genentech était condamnée par sentence arbitrale à verser à la société allemande Hoechst une somme dépassant au principal les 108 millions d’euros à titre de dommages-intérêts. La Cour d’appel de Paris fut saisie d’un recours en annulation de cette sentence arbitrale et décida de poser une question préjudicielle à la CJUE.

La problématique est la suivante. Faisant une interprétation littérale de l’accord de licence, la société américaine considérait ne pas devoir payer la moindre redevance en proportion de l’exploitation de la technologie concédée car (i) cette technologie n’était pas présente dans les produits finis qu’elle commercialisait et (ii) l’utilisation qu’elle faisait de cette technologie n’enfreignait pas les droits attachés aux brevets sous licence.

Au-delà de cette question relevant strictement du droit de la propriété industrielle, la société américaine estimait que le paiement d’une redevance en l’absence de toute contrefaçon revenait à lui imposer des dépenses injustifiées en contravention avec l’article 101 du Traité sur le fonctionnement de l’Union européenne (TFUE) prohibant les pratiques restrictives de concurrence.

Et bien, en simplifiant quelque peu, selon la CJUE, il n’y a juridiquement rien de choquant à devoir payer une redevance de licence de brevet alors même que l’on n’exploite pas la technologie brevetée.

Dans la langue juridique de la Cour, la réponse se lit comme suit : « l’article 101 TFUE doit être interprété en ce sens qu’il ne s’oppose pas à ce que, au titre d’un accord de licence tel que celui en cause au principal, il soit imposé au licencié de payer une redevance pour l’utilisation d’une technologie brevetée pendant toute la période d’effectivité de cet accord, en cas d’annulation ou de non-contrefaçon du brevet sous licence, dès lors que le licencié a pu librement résilier ledit accord moyennant un préavis raisonnable ».

La Cour rappelle également que, dès lors que la liberté de rompre le contrat existe et est respectée, « l’obligation de payer une redevance, y compris après l’expiration de la durée de validité du brevet sous licence, peut procéder d’un jugement d’ordre commercial sur la valeur attribuée aux possibilités d’exploitation conférées par l’accord de licence » (CJUE, 12 mai 1989, Ottung, affaire 320/87). En d’autres termes, comme il peut exister des motifs autres que ceux relevant strictement de la propriété industrielle pour justifier de contracter un accord de licence, ou tout du moins des motifs qui ne sont pas exclusivement liés au titre ou aux droits de propriété industrielle donnés en licence, l’obligation de payer une redevance n’est pas exclusivement liée aux droits de propriété industrielle conférés par la licence.

On pense évidemment à tout ce qui entoure souvent la concession de licence, en matière de brevets mais pas seulement, comme la transmission de savoir-faire, le transfert de technologie, la coopération technique, le partenariat commercial ou la communication d’informations confidentielles relevant normalement du secret des affaires. Ces éléments annexes en apparence peuvent en pratique se révéler d’un intérêt capital pour le licencié. Donc l’accès à ces informations, qu’elles soient d’ordre industriel, technique ou commercial, peut en réalité avoir autant de valeur pour le licencié que l’accès au brevet en tant que tel.

Ce raisonnement est valable sur le principe évidemment, et que la Cour s’intéresse à l’économie générale des relations entre le breveté et le licencié est la preuve d’un certain ancrage dans la réalité économique. Mais la CJUE ne va-t-elle pas trop loin en estimant que la « redevance constitue le prix à payer pour exploiter commercialement la technologie sous licence avec l’assurance que le concédant n’exercera pas ses droits de propriété industrielle » ?

Nous le pensons et nous espérons que la Cour reviendra rapidement sur cette analyse (ou au contraire, n’y reviendra pas). Car si l’on peut admettre qu’une licence de brevet (ou d’un autre titre de propriété industrielle) n’est pas qu’une licence de brevet, il ne faut pas pour autant réduire la cause, la raison d’être, de la redevance à une sorte de prime d’assurance de non-contrefaçon, le prix de la paix. Sortie du contexte de la décision, une telle affirmation serait nécessairement réductrice et donc au moins en partie erronée.

Et même dans le contexte de la décision, ce jugement paraît sévère. Car, dans l’affaire commentée, il était soutenu que le licencié n’enfreignait pas les droits de propriété industrielle du breveté. Potentiellement, le licencié s’acquittait donc d’une redevance de licence pour une technologie non couverte par un droit de propriété industrielle. Dans ces conditions, comment dire que la redevance est le prix à payer pour éviter que le breveté n’agisse en contrefaçon contre le licencié puisque précisément, en l’absence de droit de propriété industrielle, il ne peut pas y avoir contrefaçon ?

Toujours est-il que le critère principal retenu par la Cour, certes saisie sur le terrain du droit de la concurrence et non du droit de la propriété industrielle, est le fait que le contrat de licence puisse être librement rompu, moyennant un préavis raisonnable. Cela revient donc finalement à responsabiliser le licencié. Et sur ce point, la CJUE doit être pleinement approuvée. Après tout, si le licencié estime ne pas contrefaire les droits de propriété industrielle concédés en licence, charge à lui de prendre ses responsabilités, d’assumer de mettre un terme au contrat, et le cas échéant de faire face au breveté sur le terrain délictuel. A l’inverse, si le licencié accepte de s’engager à payer une redevance de licence qu’il ne serait peut-être pas tenu de payer au regard de la technologie exploitée, c’est de sa responsabilité et il ne peut donc se réfugier derrière les principes du droit de la concurrence pour dénoncer le contrat.

Il est d’ailleurs intéressant de se reporter aux conclusions de l’Avocat général dans cette affaire, lequel livre une analyse centrée sur le droit de la concurrence appliqué au contrat de licence litigieux. Car, à aucun moment, l’Avocat général ne propose la moindre définition de la redevance de licence qui pourrait laisser libre cours aux interprétations. L’Avocat général rappelle que, selon l’interprétation de l’arbitre qu’il ne lui appartient pas de remettre en cause, « l’obligation de Genentech de payer des redevances découlait non pas de l’utilisation d’une technologie protégée par des brevets valides, mais uniquement de l’accord de licence en cause » ou encore que « l’objet commercial de l’accord de licence était d’éviter des recours contentieux en matière de brevets et, par conséquent, le calcul des redevances était totalement indépendant de l’existence ou non d’un brevet valide sur le produit fini ». En fait, dans cette espèce, le paiement de la redevance de licence était en quelque sorte déconnecté des droits de propriété industrielle au sens strict, et c’est la raison pour laquelle, tout simplement, le licencié ne pouvait s’exonérer de payer la redevance au simple prétexte qu’il n’utilisait pas la technologie brevetée.

Ce qu’il faut retenir

En pratique, cette décision, et plus généralement cette affaire, doivent alerter les licenciés ou les futurs licenciés à un accord de licence sur au moins trois points principaux, étant entendu que tous les aspects d’un accord de licence doivent de toute façon faire l’objet de la plus grande vigilance.

Premièrement, lors de la négociation du contrat de licence, il faut prêter une attention toute particulière à la ou aux clauses déterminant et délimitant l’assiette de la redevance et l’exigibilité de la redevance. Et si le licencié est principalement intéressé par la technologie brevetée, il est conseillé de lier l’exigibilité de la redevance à la validité du brevet.

Deuxièmement, il ne faut pas négliger la portée des clauses de non-concurrence qui sont souvent incluses dans le contrat pour éviter que le licencié ne contourne la technologie brevetée et qui, en conséquence, peuvent élargir considérablement la portée de l’engagement du licencié.

Troisièmement, en cours d’exécution du contrat et tout au long de la validité du contrat de licence, il faut régulièrement procéder à des audits juridiques qui permettront d’évaluer son intérêt stratégique, commercial et industriel.

Et il ne faut évidemment pas hésiter à rompre un contrat de licence lorsque le titre ou le droit de propriété industrielle qui en est l’objet ne présente plus de valeur pour le licencié, ou à tout le moins à renégocier l’accord de licence pour rétablir un équilibre entre les droits contractuellement conférés et l’exploitation réellement entreprise par le licencié.

© INSCRIPTA

Cet article a également été publié sur le Village de la Justice.