Protection and defense of trademarks in the E.U.

Published onJune 2013

Further to the decision of the Court of Justice of the European Union IP TRANSLATOR (see our previous article), all 25 national trademark offices of E.U. Member States together with OHIM have increased the discussions to try to harmonize their interpretation relating to protection and defense of trademarks filed or registered in connection with the Nice class headings.

The offices are working to find a common interpretation (i) of the requirements of clarity and precision regarding the designation of products and services covered by the trademark applications and (ii) in determining which general indications in the Nice class headings would be acceptable for trademark registration.

Nearly one year after the IP TRANSLATOR decision, the offices publish a common communication, presenting a compilation of data showing office by office the current scope of protection of national and Community trademarks containing all general indications of one or more classes, filed before and after the judgment.

Far from making the situation clearer, these multiple tables show the disparity of protections from one country to another.

If one day the offices reach an agreement and converge towards a common practice, time will eventually help standardize the scope of trademark protection, since the obligation of use within 5 years from the registration and the correlative risk of cancellation for non use should limit the scope of trademark protection in administrative or judicial litigations.

In the meantime, E.U. main objectives that registered trademarks enjoy equal protection under various legal systems of all Member States are far from being ensured.

© INSCRIPTA

Protection et défense des marques dans l'Union européenne

Publié en juin 2013

Depuis l’arrêt IP TRANSLATOR (voir notre précédent article), l’ensemble des 25 offices nationaux et régionaux des marques des pays membres de l’Union européenne et l’office des marques communautaires ont multiplié les discussions afin de tenter d’harmoniser leur pratique en matière de protection et de défense des marques revendiquant une protection pour l’intitulé complet d’une classe administrative de produits ou de services.

Les offices collaborent à ce jour pour trouver une interprétation commune (i) quant aux exigences de clarté et de précision concernant la désignation des produits et services visés par les demandes de marques et (ii) quant à la détermination des indications générales figurant dans les intitulés de classes de la classification de Nice qui seraient en tant que telles acceptables dans un libellé.

Près d’un an après l’arrêt IP TRANSLATOR, c’est pour l’heure une communication commune que proposent les offices réunis, dont les 6 tableaux annexés compilent les données relatives à la pratique de chaque office concernant la portée de protection accordée aux marques visant des intitulés de classes.

Loin de constituer un éclairage rassurant et facilitant la tâche des déposants, cet état des lieux montre la disparité des protections accordées d’un pays à l’autre sur une même marque.

Si un jour les offices parviennent à s’accorder sur une pratique commune, le temps aidera sans doute à uniformiser la portée de protection des marques, l’obligation d’exploiter dans les 5 ans de l’enregistrement et le risque corrélatif de déchéance pour absence d’usage venant restreindre le périmètre de protection des marques lors de conflits administratif ou judiciaire.

Dans l’intervalle, l’objectif communautaire premier que les marques enregistrées jouissent de la même protection dans la législation de tous les États membres est loin d’être assuré.

© INSCRIPTA