The Brexit and the Community trademarks and designs

Published onNovember 2015

While the European authorities have finalized the revision of the Trademark system and while there have been significant developments in the implementation of the so-called “EU Patent Package”, the United Kingdom is considering a possible British exit from the European Union by scheduling a referendum in June 2016.

If the Brexit would have no effect at all on the European patent system, which owes its name only to the patent office (the European Patent Office is not an institution of the EU), there would be serious consequences for owners of Community trademarks and designs.

The Community trademarks and designs have a unitary character and effect throughout the whole EU. Since the adoption of the Community trademark in April 1996, the European Union has expanded from 13 to 28 Member States.

If there are some provisions (1) in the Regulations on Community trademark and Community design relating to the enlargement of the Community to new Member States (2), nothing has been set in case of withdrawal of one or more Member States, neither in the current law, nor in the upcoming Regulation on European Union trade mark (3).

If the UK were to leave the EU, one can hope that a conversion mechanism would be established between the OHIM and the British Office (IPO), allowing either automatically or at the request of IP right owners, maybe even against payment of a fee, to convert Community trademarks/designs into UK National trademarks/designs, while benefiting from the date of the initial Community protection.

The IP rights could be preserved in this way, but their protection would be very different from the one originally sought:

  • In terms of requirements of use for the maintenance of registered trademarks: National trademark owners should prove the genuine use of their trademarks in the relevant country while, given its unitary nature, the territorial borders of the Member States should be disregarded in the assessment of whether a Community trade mark has been put to “genuine use in the Community” (4);
  • In terms of defence: the owners of Community trademarks/designs could apply to, before a Community trademark/design court, and obtain orders prohibiting defendants from continuing to infringe or potentially infringing Community trademarks/designs, as well as provisional and protective measures.

If the outcome of the referendum is unpredictable, there is no doubt that the Brexit would significantly increase the costs of protection, management and protection of IP rights holders.

© INSCRIPTA

(1) Article 165 of Regulation No. 207/2009 of 26 February 2009 On the Community trade mark and article 110 bis of Regulation No. 6/2002 of 12 December 2001 on Community design.

(2) See our previous article concerning the Enlargement of the European Union to Croatia.

(3) See our article about the Revision of the European Trade Mark system.

(4) ECJ, 19 December 2012, case C‑149/11, ONEL, Leno Merken BV v/ Hagelkruis Beheer BV. The Court ruled that: “A Community trade mark is put to ‘genuine use’ within the meaning of Article 15(1) of Regulation No 207/2009 when it is used in accordance with its essential function and for the purpose of maintaining or creating market share within the European Community for the goods or services covered by it. It is for the referring court to assess whether the conditions are met in the main proceedings, taking account of all the relevant facts and circumstances, including the characteristics of the market concerned, the nature of the goods or services protected by the trade mark and the territorial extent and the scale of the use as well as its frequency and regularity.

Le Brexit et les marques et modèles communautaires

Publié en novembre 2015

A l’heure où les instances européennes ont finalisé la réforme du droit des marques et où le brevet unitaire connaît enfin des avancées importantes, le Royaume-Uni envisage une sortie possible de l’Union européenne en programmant en juin 2016 un référendum populaire.

Si le système du brevet européen, qui n’a d’européen que le nom en ce qu’il est délivré par l’office européen des brevets, n’en serait nullement impacté, il en va différemment des marques et modèles communautaires.

La marque et le modèle communautaires sont des titres unitaires qui produisent leurs effets sur l’ensemble du territoire de l’Union. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la marque communautaire en avril 1996, le territoire de l’Union est passé de 13 pays aux 28 actuels.

Si l’on trouve des dispositions (1) dans les règlements sur la marque ou le modèle communautaire en cas d’élargissement de l’Union à de nouveaux États membres (2), rien n’a été prévu en cas de retrait d’un ou plusieurs États, pas plus dans les textes existants que dans le nouveau Règlement sur le droit des marques de l’Union européenne (3).

Dans un tel cas, l’on peut espérer qu’un mécanisme de conversion serait établi entre l’office des marques communautaires et l’office britannique (IPO), permettant soit automatiquement, soit à la demande des titulaires de titres communautaires, voire contre paiement d’une taxe, de les transformer en marques/modèles nationaux en bénéficiant de la date de protection communautaire initiale.

Les droits pourraient de cette façon être préservés, mais leur protection serait très différente de celle initialement recherchée.

  • En termes de maintien de droits : le titulaire d’une marque doit justifier de son exploitation dans les 5 ans de son enregistrement pour espérer la défendre, ou échapper à une action en déchéance pour défaut d’exploitation. Compte tenu de son caractère unitaire, l’usage de la marque communautaire est apprécié sans tenir compte des frontières des pays membres (4), alors que pour maintenir une marque nationale au Royaume-Uni, son titulaire devra démontrer une exploitation sérieuse dans le pays ;
  • En termes de défense : la marque ou le modèle communautaires donnent la possibilité d’agir en contrefaçon devant les tribunaux de marques/modèles communautaires, tribunaux nationaux qui voient leur compétence élargie à l’ensemble de l’Union et peuvent prononcer une ordonnance interdisant la poursuite les actes de contrefaçon et prendre les mesures provisoires et conservatoires propres à garantir le respect de cette interdiction.

Ce qui est certain, c’est que la sortie du Royaume-Uni de l’Union européenne augmenterait de façon significative les coûts de protection, de gestion et de défense des titulaires de droits de PI.

© INSCRIPTA

(1) Article 165 du Règlement N°207/2009 du 26 février 2009 sur la marque communautaire et article 110 bis du Règlement N°6/2002 du 12 décembre 2001 sur les dessins ou modèles communautaires.

(2) Voir notre article sur les mécanismes mis en place lors de l’adhésion de la Croatie en 2013.

(3) Voir notre article sur la réforme du droit des marques en Europe.

(4) Voir CJUE, 19 décembre 2012, aff. C‑149/11, ONEL, Leno Merken BV c/ Hagelkruis Beheer BV. La Cour indique que : « Une marque communautaire fait l’objet d’un « usage sérieux », au sens de l’article 15, paragraphe 1, du règlement no 207/2009, lorsqu’elle est utilisée conformément à sa fonction essentielle et en vue de maintenir ou de créer des parts de marché dans la Communauté européenne pour les produits ou les services désignés par ladite marque. Il appartient à la juridiction de renvoi d’apprécier si les conditions sont remplies dans l’affaire au principal, en tenant compte de l’ensemble des faits et des circonstances pertinents tels que, notamment, les caractéristiques du marché en cause, la nature des produits ou des services protégés par la marque, l’étendue territoriale et quantitative de l’usage ainsi que la fréquence et la régularité de ce dernier. »