International trademarks – Accessions by Colombia, New-Zealand and Mexico

Published onNovember 2012

The International trademark system provides a variety of centralized administrative procedures to protect and manage a trademark in one or several member countries.

With the recent accession of Colombia on August 29, 2012 and the very next accession of New Zealand on December 10, 2012 and Mexico on February 19, 2013, there will be soon 89 countries and region (European Union) that may be designated via an International trademark registration which offers a cheaper alternative than filing foreign and national applications.

Incidentally, it must be noted that as from June 29, 2013 it will be necessary to pay Official fees three times higher than the current fee to designate the Syrian Arab Republic.

As a consequence, applicants planning to protect their trademarks in this country in the next coming months should think about filing their International trademark applications without further postponement.


See also our article about the International trademark system.