Copyright protection over a portal

Publié en November 2018

That’s right! This is France and France is known worldwide (at least we French people like to think so) for its contributions to the arts, its intellectual creations, its original productions. Yet we are talking about copyright protection claimed over a portal, a front gate.

In 2012, a portal manufacturer filed a lawsuit for copyright infringement claiming another company had a portal made based upon its plans and drawings, after

Law and Intellectual Property as growth boosters

Publié en October 2018

This article is the transcription of a presentation by Manuel ROCHE, Industrial property attorney and President of the International Relations Committee of the CNCPI (the French Patent and Trademark Attorneys Institute), during the international symposium “Paris, European hub for business, digital, IP and tech law” which took place the 11th of October 2018, at the Tribunal de grande instance de Paris (Paris First instance Court of Paris), organized by the

Design of a retail store may be protected by copyright in France

Publié en August 2018

The layout of a retail store, even more if it is a flagship store or a franchise store, often created by a designer or an architect, may be protected in France by copyright if the originality of the store design is recognized by the courts.

Such is the case of the franchised hair salons Shampoo, given their characteristics detailed by the Court of Appeal of Douai (April 5, 2018, Case

EU / China – The battle for technology transfers

Publié en June 2018

Early June 2018, the European Union has initiated proceedings before the World Trade Organisation against China for failing to respect the intellectual property rights of European companies.

Observing that “European companies coming to China are forced to grant ownership or usage rights of their technology to domestic Chinese entities and are deprived of the ability to freely negotiate market-based terms in technology transfer agreements”, the EU decided to take action

3D trademark v/ Community design – The Tic Tac box case

Publié en February 2018

The three-dimensional trademark, filed for sweets and consisting of an empty and unlabeled TIC TAC box, although considered as a weak trademark, is opposable to a Community design consisting of a full candy box, bearing figurative and verbal elements.

First of all, an earlier trademark right can be opposed to a later registered Community design (RCD) as:

Part of the prior art, to destroy the novelty or individual character of

Page 1 sur 712345Dernière page »

Sésame, ouvre-toi !

Publié en novembre 2018

Dans les Mille et Une Nuits, une incantation magique permettait d’ouvrir une porte recelant de précieux trésors. Dans le monde du droit de la propriété intellectuelle, faire reconnaître des droits d’auteur sur un portail demande davantage d’efforts qu’une simple incantation.

Le fabricant de portails TSCHOEPPE a assigné en contrefaçon de droits d’auteur une société à qui elle avait adressé un devis pour la fourniture et l’installation d’un portail en aluminium,

Le droit et la propriété intellectuelle, facteurs de croissance

Publié en octobre 2018

Cet article est la retranscription d’une présentation effectuée par Manuel ROCHE, Conseil en propriété industrielle et Président de la Commission Relations Internationales de la Compagnie Nationale des Conseils en Propriété Industrielle (CNCPI), lors du colloque international « Paris, European hub for business, digital, IP and tech law / Place européenne du droit des affaires, du numérique, de la PI et des technologies » qui a eu lieu le 11 octobre 2018, au

L’aménagement intérieur d’une boutique protégé par le droit d’auteur

Publié en août 2018

L’aménagement intérieur d’une enseigne commerciale, tout particulièrement de boutiques franchisées, souvent créé par un architecte d’intérieur, peut être protégé par le droit d’auteur si cet aménagement est reconnu original par les tribunaux.

Tel est le cas de l’aménagement des salons Shampoo, franchise de salons de coiffure, compte tenu de leurs caractéristiques minutieusement détaillées par la Cour d’appel de Douai (5 avril 2018, RG 17/03809).

© Shampoo

L’espace

UE / Chine – La bataille des transferts de technologie

Publié en juin 2018

L’Union européenne a annoncé début juin 2018 avoir engagé une procédure auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce à l’encontre de la Chine pour atteinte aux droits de propriété intellectuelle des entreprises européennes.

Faisant le constat que « les entreprises européennes qui viennent s’établir en Chine sont contraintes d’accorder des droits de propriété ou d’utilisation de leurs technologies à des entités nationales chinoises et sont privées de la possibilité de négocier librement

Marque 3D versus Modèle – L’exemple de la boîte de Tic Tac

Publié en février 2018

La marque tridimensionnelle, déposée pour des sucreries et constituée d’une boîte de TIC TAC vide et sans étiquette, bien que faible, constitue une antériorité opposable à un modèle communautaire composé d’une boîte de bonbons pleine, portant une étiquette avec logo.

Rappelons tout d’abord qu’une marque peut être opposée à un modèle à deux titres.

Une marque peut constituer une antériorité invalidant un modèle postérieur et détruire sa nouveauté ou son

Page 1 sur 712345Dernière page »