International design system: Accessions by Japan and the United States of America

Published onFebruary 2015

Two of the world’s biggest economies, namely the United States of America and Japan, will join the Hague system for the International Registration of Industrial Designs on May 13th, 2015.

The international design system provides a variety of centralized administrative procedures to protect and manage a design in one or several member countries, among which the European Union.

The international registration follows the same registration proceedings and has the same effect as a registration in each of the designated contracting parties, as if the design had been registered directly with each national office.

Still, applicants of Community designs, usually registered in a few days, are likely to be surprised by the very thorough examination performed by the USPTO, which checks the validity of the model including its novelty.

Where good design becomes crucial to a business’ success, any help to facilitate its protection is of major importance. In that context, the accession of the United States and Japan is expected to boost further expansion of the international design system and encourage other countries to consider joining the Hague Agreement, to the benefit of the designers and innovating companies.

© INSCRIPTA

Modèle international: Adhésion des USA et du Japon

Publié en février 2015

Les États-Unis d’Amérique et le Japon viennent d’adhérer au système de la Haye instaurant le modèle international. Leur désignation sera possible à compter du 13 mai 2015.

Le modèle international permet, par une administration centralisée des procédures de dépôts, renouvellement et diverses inscriptions, de protéger et de gérer un modèle dans un ou plusieurs des 64 pays et organisations intergouvernementales qui sont membres, parmi lesquels l’Union européenne.

Cette procédure suit les mêmes règles d’examen et produit les mêmes effets que l’octroi d’une protection dans chacune des parties contractantes désignées, comme si le dessin ou modèle avait été enregistré directement auprès de chaque office national.

Attention toutefois, les déposants de modèles communautaires, habitués à un enregistrement de leur modèle en quelques jours seulement, risquent d’être surpris par l’examen très poussé pratiqué par l’USPTO, l’office américain, qui se livre à un véritable examen de la validité du modèle et en vérifie notamment la nouveauté.

Quoi qu’il en soit, à l’heure où la valeur ajoutée du design pour la commercialisation de produits industriels est primordiale, faciliter sa protection est un enjeu majeur. Dans ce contexte, l’adhésion des États-Unis d’Amérique et du Japon devrait renforcer le système du modèle international et encourager d’autres pays à envisager d’adhérer à l’Arrangement de La Haye, pour le plus grand bénéfice des déposants.

© INSCRIPTA