Trademarks: Can descriptive or generic terms be freely used?

Published onDecember 2016

The technical or usual vocabulary cannot be monopolized and must remain at the disposal of each and all economic actors. The rule is simple, but its standards for application are not.

Indeed, many descriptive trademarks have been registered and are currently in force. Are they obstacles to the registration or use of other marks containing such terms?

Yes, as long as they remain on the trademark registers…

And no, if a declaration of invalidity is requested before the competent court!

This was confirmed by the Court of Justice of the European Union in a dispute between the earlier trade mark KOMPRESSOR registered by several national trademark offices (including INPI in France) to designate various electrical devices which may include a compressor (vacuum cleaners, air conditioners and refrigerators), and the EU trademark application COMPRESSOR TECHNOLOGY  (CJEU, 8 November 2016, C-43/15P, BSH Bosch and Siemens Hausgeräte v/ EUIPO – LG Electronics).

The Court ruled that it is not within the context of the opposition that the descriptive or non-descriptive nature of a mark in relation to the goods and services concerned can be examined, but during the examination procedure by the trademark office.

A national mark is always assumed to be valid and to have a certain degree of distinctiveness: “(…) in opposition proceedings directed against the registration of an EU trade mark the validity of national trade marks may not be called into question. Therefore, in such opposition proceedings, it is likewise not possible to find, with regard to a sign identical to a trade mark protected in a Member State, an absolute ground for refusal, such as descriptive character and the lack of distinctive character” (paragraph 66).

Therefore, assuming that an earlier national mark is in fact descriptive in respect of some of the goods for which it has been registered and that its protection leads to improper monopolization of the descriptive indication in question, such a consequence must be remedied (…) by invalidity proceedings brought in the Member State concerned” (paragraph 68).

Our recommendations

It is up to the economic actors to defend their interests whenever there is an opportunity.

In this regard, they can monitor the trademark registers to detect trademark applications composed of keyword or generic keywords in their activities and file absolute grounds observations at the examination stage in order to avoid the registration of descriptive marks which could prevent to use them freely.

Prior to any use of a sign as a trademark, availability searches must be carried out systematically by a trademark attorney, capable of correctly assessing the risk of confusion with existing trademarks and the associated costs.

Depending on the results, an adapted strategy can be developed:

  • Offensive approach, in order to ensure legal certainty over time: invalidity proceedings may be brought against the earlier descriptive mark; however, court procedures remain lengthy and costly processes. Things could change when the procedure for revocation or declaration of invalidity of French trademarks will become available before the trademark office (See our article here), but this implementation will not be effective before several years;
  • Bold approach: finding a loophole, and not systematically seek to register the sign as used, by playing with the descriptiveness of certain elements of the mark. This strategy should be developed on a case-by-case basis, taking into account the obligation to use the trademark without altering its distinctive nature.

In any case, the economic players must be made aware of the risks inherent in their communication and anticipate possible problems to better control their budget and the legal risk. INSCRIPTA, as an expert in trademark law, provides you with customized, practical and convenient solutions in this very technical environment.

© INSCRIPTA

Marques: Les termes descriptifs ou génériques peuvent-ils être librement utilisés ?

Publié en décembre 2016

Le vocabulaire technique ou usuel ne peut être monopolisé et doit rester à la disposition de tous les acteurs économiques. La règle est simple, mais son application l’est beaucoup moins.

En effet, de nombreuses marques descriptives ont été enregistrées et sont actuellement en vigueur. Sont-elles des obstacles à l’enregistrement ou à l’usage de marques contenant de tels termes ?

Oui, tant qu’elles figurent sur les registres…

Et non, si leur nullité est demandée devant les tribunaux compétents !

Ainsi l’a confirmé la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne dans un litige opposant la marque première KOMPRESSOR, enregistrée par plusieurs offices nationaux des marques (dont l’INPI en France) pour désigner différents appareils électriques parmi lesquels certains susceptibles de contenir un compresseur (aspirateurs, des climatiseurs et des réfrigérateurs), à la demande de marque de l’Union européenne COMPRESSOR TECHNOLOGY (CJUE, 8 novembre 2016, C-43/15P, BSH Bosch und Siemens Hausgeräte / EUIPO – LG Electronics).

La Cour rappelle que ce n’est pas dans le cadre de l’opposition que peut être examiné le caractère descriptif ou non d’une marque en relation avec les produits et services visés, mais au moment du dépôt, lors de l’examen de la marque par l’office.

La marque nationale première est donc présumée valable et disposer d’un certain degré de caractère distinctif : « (…) lors d’une procédure d’opposition à une demande d’enregistrement d’une marque de l’Union, la validité des marques nationales ne peut être mise en cause. Dès lors, dans le cadre d’une telle procédure d’opposition, il n’est pas non plus possible de constater, à l’égard d’un signe identique à une marque protégée dans un État membre, un motif absolu de refus, tel que le caractère descriptif et l’absence de caractère distinctif » (point 66).

« Partant, à supposer qu’une marque nationale antérieure soit effectivement descriptive pour certains des produits pour lesquels elle a été enregistrée et que sa protection conduise à la monopolisation indue de l’indication descriptive en question, il doit être remédié à une telle conséquence (…) par une procédure de nullité entamée dans l’État membre concerné » (point 68).

Nos recommandations

Il appartient aux acteurs économiques de défendre leurs intérêts à chaque fois qu’ils en ont l’occasion.

Ils peuvent ainsi effectuer des surveillances au sein des registres de marques pour détecter tout dépôt de marque composée de mots clés phares ou génériques dans leurs activités et déposer des observations au stade de l’examen, afin d’éviter l’enregistrement de marques descriptives et potentiellement gênantes pour leur communication.

Avant toute exploitation d’un signe à titre de marque, il est impératif d’effectuer systématiquement des recherches d’antériorités par le biais de conseils spécialisés, à même d’évaluer correctement le risque de confusion avec les marques existantes et les coûts associés.

En fonction des résultats, une stratégie adaptée pourra être développée :

  • Attitude offensive, pour une plus grande sécurité juridique : une action en nullité est engagée à l’encontre de la marque détectée ; toutefois, cette procédure est judiciaire, donc longue, possiblement coûteuse et reste aléatoire. La situation pourrait être simplifiée en cas de traitement de procédure de nullité par l’INPI, envisagée en application de la réforme du droit des marques (Voir notre article ici), mais pas avant plusieurs années ;
  • Attitude plus audacieuse : trouver une échappatoire, et ne pas chercher à déposer coûte que coûte ce qui sera réellement exploité en jouant sur la descriptivité de certains éléments de la marque. Cette stratégie devra être élaborée au cas par cas, en tenant compte de l’obligation d’exploiter le signe sans en altérer pas le caractère distinctif.

Quoi qu’il en soit, les acteurs économiques doivent connaître les risques inhérents à leur communication et anticiper d’éventuels problèmes pour mieux maîtriser leur budget et le risque juridique. INSCRIPTA, en tant qu’expert en droit des marques, vous conseille utilement et simplement dans cet environnement très technique.

© INSCRIPTA