French new geographical indications for furniture and espadrilles

Published onJuly 2016

After the Savon de Marseille (a vegetal oil-based soap) (1) for which 2 competing submissions are still being discussed, the “Siège de Liffol” (the Liffol’s Seat) and the “Espadrille de Mauléon – Mauleko espartina” (Mauleon’s Espadrille, a kind of sneakers) have been filed as geographical indication protecting industrial and artisanal products (2).

The Lorraine wood furniture cluster, located in Liffol-le-Grand representing artisanal manufactures of the Great East seats (Haute-Marne, Meuse and Vosges), will be the management and defence organization of the GI “Siège de Liffol”. According to the specification note, only the production will be local, using manufacturing methods entirely crafted. Raw materials including timber may have another origin.

In the same way, the geographical area of the Mauleon’s espadrille would be the province of Soule (Northern Basque Country province) where are historically implanted espadrille manufacturing workshops, respecting the traditional know-how, namely methods and manufacturing steps described in the specification. Manufacturing may be artisanal or industrial and there is no requirement on the geographical origin of the raw materials used.

Let us remind that must be considered a geographical indication the name of a geographical area or of a specific place which serves to designate a product, other than agricultural, forester, alimentary or from the sea, which is native from such area and has a specific quality, reputation or other characteristics that are essentially attributable to this geographical origin.

On reading these specifications, the economical benefit of those GIs, if granted, can be seen. Aside from the respect for traditional know-how and reputation of quality, they could help save local employment, which seems to be the most important link with the geographical area.

© INSCRIPTA

(1) See our articles about the Savon de Marseille: Why is the Savon de Marseille or Marseille soap not always made in Marseille? and French new geographical indications and EU trademarks

(2) See our article about IGPIA New geographical indications and protection of the names of regional authorities

IGPIA: Nouvelles demandes pour des meubles et des espadrilles

Publié en juillet 2016

Après le SAVON DE MARSEILLE (1), dont les deux demandes d’homologation concurrentes sont toujours en cours d’examen, le Siège de Liffol et l’Espadrille de Mauléon – Mauleko espartina ont fait l’objet de demandes d’indications géographiques protégeant les produits industriels et artisanaux (IGPIA) (2).

Le Pôle Lorrain Ameublement Bois, situé à Liffol-le-Grand qui représente les manufactures artisanales de sièges du Grand-Est (Haute-Marne, Meuse et Vosges), sera l’organisme de gestion et de défense du Siège de Liffol. D’après le cahier des charges déposé, seule la production devra être locale, selon des méthodes de fabrication établies et décrites précisément. Les matières premières, notamment le bois pourront avoir une autre provenance.

De la même façon, l’aire géographique de l’Espadrille de Mauléon correspond à une zone limitée à la Province de la Soule (province du Pays Basque nord) où sont implantés des ateliers de fabrication d’espadrilles respectant le savoir-faire traditionnel, à savoir les méthodes et étapes de fabrication décrites dans le cahier des charges. La fabrication peut être artisanale ou industrielle et il n’y a pas d’exigence sur l’origine géographique des matières premières utilisées.

A la lecture de ces cahiers des charges, on voit parfaitement l’utilité économique recherchée à travers ces demandes d’homologation, pour préserver, au-delà du savoir-faire ancestral et de la réputation liée à l’appellation, l’emploi local qui semble être le principal lien actuel avec le territoire.

© INSCRIPTA

(1) Voir nos articles sur le Savon de Marseille : Pourquoi le Savon de Marseille n’est-il pas forcément marseillais ? et IGPIA: le savon de Marseille, un terrain glissant

(2) Pour plus de précisions quant à la définition et aux effets de ce nouveau titre, voir notre article Indications géographiques et protection du nom des collectivités