What do you think when you hear Bentley?

Published onJuly 2016

A decision issued by the First Instance Court of Paris on 17 March 2016 (3rd chamber, 4th section, case number 2015/06994) caught our attention and deserves a comment that could prove useful to holders of renowned trademarks attempting to enforce their IP rights in France.

The British motor company BENTLEY MOTORS LTD, now part of Volkswagen group, found out that a Chinese company had the French trademarks JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK and B JACK BENTLEY (figurative mark) registered in connection with alcoholic beverages in 2013.

BENTLEY MOTORS owns French trademark registrations for BENTLEY and B (figurative mark). The BENTLEY marks are registered in connection with all sorts of goods and services (actually they are registered in all classes of goods and services) including vehicles.

BENTLEY MOTORS intended to demonstrate that the use of the marks JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK and B JACK BENTLEY by the Chinese company was infringing the BENTLEY marks, claiming that these marks enjoyed reputation within the meaning of Article L.713-5 of the French Intellectual Property Code.

Under this provision, any person who uses a mark enjoying reputation, for goods or services that are not similar to those designated in the registration, shall be liable under civil law if such use is likely to cause a damage to the owner of the mark or if such use constitutes unjustified exploitation of the mark.

For BENTLEY MOTORS it meant showing first that the BENTLEY marks were indeed well-known.

Surely such a demonstration would have been impossible or almost impossible as regards all goods and services covered by the BENTLEY trademark registrations. But one may have thought the demonstration would be rather simple as regards vehicles.

And yet the Paris Court rejected the reputation claim made by BENTLEY MOTORS considering there was not enough evidence to assess the degree of knowledge or recognition of the marks by the French public and to consider the marks were well-known.

Such a finding might be surprising. Maybe you do not drive a BENTLEY but surely you know about the BENTLEY mark and the BENTLEY logo.

So why such a decision?

It is really a question of proof. The Court reminded that a mark has a reputation when it is known by a significant part of the relevant public concerned by the goods and services it designates. To assess this condition, relevant factors to be taking into account are the market share held by the mark, the intensity, the geographical spread and the duration of the use of that mark, and the extent of the investment made for its promotion.

The amount of evidence provided by BENTLEY MOTORS did not convince the Court. But the decision was in fact predictable, at least for an experienced Trademark Attorney, for BENTLEY MOTORS failed to submit one key element of proof: a survey. Indeed, since the decision of the Court of Justice of the European Union in the GENERAL MOTORS case in 1999, more precisely since French courts interpret French law in light of Community law and Community case-law, surveys have become indispensable to evidence that a mark has a reputation.

Maybe BENTLEY MOTORS will have a second chance, if there is an appeal.

Nevertheless, the British motor company succeeded in obtaining cancellation of the marks JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK and B JACK BENTLEY on another legal ground, a subtler one, combining trademark law and public health regulations.

The French Public Health Code forbids indirect advertising for alcohol. And according to the Court, if an advertisement for a product other than an alcoholic beverage makes people think of an alcoholic beverage because of the mark being used in the advertisement, it must be considered as indirect advertising for alcohol and as such prohibited under Article L.3323-2 of the French Public Health Code.

BENTLEY MOTORS argued that the existence of the marks JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK and B JACK BENTLEY could be seen as a restriction or a potential restriction to the promotion and advertising of the BENTLEY vehicles because BENTLEY MOTORS’ advertisements could be interpreted as indirect advertising for the alcoholic beverages coming from the Chinese company.

The argument is kind of ironic considering the BENTLEY marks of the British company do cover alcoholic beverages (although they do not appear to be used for such goods).

But it is legally admissible and it was upheld by the Court. After finding that there was a likelihood of confusion between the BENTLEY marks and the marks JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK and B JACK BENTLEY, the Parisian justices decided to declare the latter invalid for potentially depriving BENTLEY MOTORS of using the BENTLEY marks.

If there is no appeal in the case, BENTLEY MOTORS will have to be satisfied with this outcome since no damages were granted by the Court, once again because of a lack of proof.

© INSCRIPTA

Et si je vous dis Bentley ?

Publié en juillet 2016

Une décision du Tribunal de grande instance de Paris du 17 mars 2016 (3e ch., 4e sect., RG 2015/06994) a doublement retenu notre attention ces dernières semaines.

BENTLEY MOTORS LTD, le fabriquant d’automobiles britannique, désormais filiale du groupe Volkswagen, a constaté qu’une société chinoise avait déposé en 2013 des marques françaises portant sur les signes JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK et B JACK BENTLEY (marque semi-figurative) pour diverses boissons alcoolisées.

BENTLEY MOTORS est quant à elle titulaire des marques françaises antérieures BENTLEY et B (marque semi-figurative) désignant de très nombreux produits et services sans grand rapport les uns avec les autres, parmi lesquels toutefois des véhicules.

La société britannique entendait faire reconnaître que l’utilisation des marques JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK et B JACK BENTLEY par la société chinoise constituait une atteinte à ses propres marques, selon elle renommées, au sens des dispositions de l’article L.713-5 du Code de la propriété intellectuelle.

Selon cet article, « la reproduction ou l’imitation d’une marque jouissant d’une renommée pour des produits ou services non similaires à ceux désignés dans l’enregistrement engage la responsabilité civile de son auteur si elle est de nature à porter préjudice au propriétaire de la marque ou si cette reproduction ou imitation constitue une exploitation injustifiée de cette dernière. »

Cela supposait, par hypothèse, de démontrer avant toute chose que les marques BENTLEY et le logo B étaient bien des marques renommées.

Pour l’intégralité des produits et services visés par les marques BENTLEY, le défi aurait été vraisemblablement impossible à relever. Mais, en ce qui concerne les véhicules automobiles, l’on aurait pu croire que l’objectif n’était pas hors d’atteinte.

Et pourtant, le tribunal a considéré que la société BENTLEY MOTORS échouait à démontrer le degré de connaissance de ses marques par le public français et qu’elle ne justifiait pas de la renommée des deux marques en cause.

Cela peut paraître surprenant. Peut-être ne partirez-vous pas en vacances en BENTLEY cet été, mais vous connaissez très certainement la marque BENTLEY et son logo.

Alors, pourquoi une telle décision ?

C’est en réalité un problème de preuve. Comme le rappelle le tribunal, « Est renommée une marque connue d’une partie significative du public concerné pour les produits et services qu’elle désigne […] Pour vérifier si cette condition est satisfaite, il convient de prendre en considération divers éléments pertinents comme la part de marché détenue par la marque, l’intensité, l’extension géographique et la durée de son usage, et l’importance des efforts publicitaires consentis pour la promouvoir ».

Or le dossier produit par BENTLEY MOTORS n’a pas convaincu le tribunal et cette décision était pourtant prévisible, tout du moins pour un spécialiste du droit des marques, car il manquait une pièce essentielle, un élément de preuve devenu incontournable en la matière : un sondage auprès du public. Car, depuis la décision de la CJUE dans l’affaire GENERAL MOTORS en 1999, plus précisément depuis que les tribunaux français interprètent le droit français à la lumière du droit et de la jurisprudence communautaires, les sondages sont devenus indispensables pour établir la notoriété d’une marque en France.

La société britannique aura peut-être l’occasion de corriger sa défaillance en appel, si appel il y a.

Cela étant, BENTLEY MOTORS a néanmoins réussi à obtenir du tribunal la nullité des marques JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK et B JACK BENTLEY sur un autre fondement, plus subtil, mélangé de droit des marques et de dispositions relatives à la santé publique.

Le Code de la santé publique interdit toute publicité indirecte en faveur de l’alcool. Or, selon les termes mêmes du tribunal, « est considérée comme une publicité indirecte en faveur d’une boisson alcoolique et comme telle soumise aux restrictions prévues par l’article L.3323-2 du Code de la santé publique, la publicité en faveur d’un produit autre qu’une boisson alcoolique qui par l’utilisation d’une marque rappelle une telle boisson ».

BENTLEY MOTORS soutenait que l’existence des marques litigieuses, déposées pour des boissons alcoolisées, risquait de la restreindre sur le terrain publicitaire puisque ses propres publicités auraient pu être interprétées comme faisant indirectement la promotion des boissons alcooliques de la société chinoise.

En opportunité, l’argument est pour le moins ironique puisque les marques BENTLEY de la société britannique visent également de tels produits (même s’il semble qu’elles ne soient pas exploitées dans ce domaine).

Mais en droit, il est parfaitement recevable et il a d’ailleurs été entendu par les juges qui, après avoir considéré qu’il existait un risque de confusion entre les marques BENTLEY d’une part et les marques JACK BENTLEY, BENTLEY JACK et B JACK BENTLEY d’autre part, se décidèrent à prononcer la nullité de ces dernières compte tenu de l’atteinte aux droits antérieurs de BENTLEY MOTORS.

A défaut d’appel, il faudra bien que la société BENTLEY MOTORS se contente de cette annulation puisque sa demande de dommages-intérêts a été intégralement rejetée, encore pour défaut de preuve.

© INSCRIPTA

Cet article a également été publié sur le Village de la Justice.