Infringement of registered Community design and sudden breach of established business relationships: limits of the exclusive jurisdiction of Civil courts

Published onSeptember 2016

French law provides that the entire litigation for designs, trademarks and patents, including the actions and claims on a related issue of unfair competition shall be brought before specific Civil courts (articles L.522-2, L.716-3 and L.615-17 of the French Intellectual Property Code respectively).

In line with recent decisions (see our article Is the Patent Court the patent license court?) the Cour de Cassation, the French Highest Civil Court issued a reminder that these provisions must be strictly construed (decision of the Commercial Chamber, 6 September 2016, case 15-16108).

In this case, the owner of a registered Community design had taken its principal business partner before the First Instance Civil Court of Paris for compensation for damages resulting from infringement of its Community design, unfair competition, as well as unlawful and sudden breach of established business relationships and abuse of economic dependence.

When the defendant contested the material competence of the civil court regarding the claims based on the sudden breach of established business relationships and abuse of economic dependence, the Court of Appeals of Paris considered that all claims were interrelated:

[…] acts of infringement, unfair competition, breach of established business relationships and abuse of economic dependence […] were, in fact, chained to the same period and affect the relationships between the same parties who maintained a flow of business; it is in this context that the designs were presented as simple “tests” to the company XXX, which used the same in a way that degraded their relationships; because of this connection and of the potential influence of the solution given to each of the actions initiated, it is useful to hear and judge them together”.

The Cour de Cassation annulled this ruling, since it was in breach with Article L.522-2 of the French Intellectual Property Code.

This decision must be approved. The text provides for two cumulative conditions so that civil courts can have jurisdiction: (i) acts must be interrelated with or connected to an IP infringement and (ii) acts must characterize unfair competition. The sudden breach of established business relationships is not covered by the same provision as that related to unfair competition, but falls within the provisions of Article L.442-6-I-5 of the Commercial Code. Therefore Commercial courts have exclusive jurisdiction over this highly technical type of litigation.

You know the proverb: “Do not bite off more than you can chew”. The exclusive jurisdiction of specialized courts for specific areas requiring a high level of technical expertise is the guarantee of an improved legal predictability for litigants. One of the downsides is the multiplication of lawsuits when different technical areas are involved even if the parties are the same. Surely this is the price to pay for better justice.

© INSCRIPTA

Contrefaçon de modèles et rupture brutale d’une relation commerciale: les limites de la compétence du TGI

Publié en septembre 2016

La loi prévoit que les actions et demandes en matière de dessin ou modèle ainsi que les actions et demandes portant sur une question connexe de concurrence déloyale sont portées devant le Tribunal de grande instance de Paris (articles L.522-2 et R.522-1 du Code de la propriété intellectuelle).

Ces dispositions visent à porter dans le cadre d’un seule et même affaire toute réclamation qui concernerait une atteinte à un dessin ou modèle. Des dispositions identiques donnant compétence exclusive aux tribunaux de grande instance sont prévues par le Code pour les autres titres de propriété industrielle, qu’il s’agisse de brevet (article L.615-17) ou de marque (article L.716-3).

Dans la lignée de décisions récentes (voir notamment notre article Le juge du brevet ne serait pas forcément le juge de la licence de brevet)  la Cour de cassation vient de rappeler que ces dispositions étaient d’interprétation stricte (Chambre commerciale, 6 septembre 2016 ; RG 15-16108).

Dans cette affaire, le titulaire d’un modèle avait assigné un de ses partenaires commerciaux devant le TGI de Paris en réparation de préjudices résultant d’actes de contrefaçon sur des modèles communautaires, de concurrence déloyale, ainsi que de rupture brutale d’une relation commerciale établie et d’abus de dépendance économique.

Le défendeur ayant contesté l’incompétence, notamment matérielle, de la juridiction saisie au titre des demandes fondées sur la rupture brutale d’une relation commerciale établie et l’abus de dépendance économique, la cour d’appel avait considéré toutes les demandes connexes entre elles :

« […] les faits de contrefaçon, de concurrence déloyale, de rupture d’une relation commerciale établie et d’abus de dépendance économique […] se sont, en effet, enchaînés à la même époque en affectant les rapports entre les mêmes parties qui entretenaient un flux d’affaires, que c’est dans ce cadre que des modèles ont été remis à titre de simples « tests » à la société XXX, qui en a fait un usage à l’origine de la dégradation de leur relation et qu’en raison de ce lien et de l’influence potentielle de la solution donnée à chacune des actions initiées, il apparaît utile de les instruire et juger ensemble ».

La Cour de cassation vient casser cet arrêt, considérant que la cour d’appel a violé l’article L.522-2 du Code de la propriété intellectuelle.

Cet arrêt doit être approuvé. Le texte prévoit deux conditions cumulatives : (i) la connexité avec l’atteinte à un droit de PI et (ii) des actes relevant de la concurrence déloyale. Or, la rupture brutale de relations commerciales relève non pas de l’article 1382 du Code civil (socle légal de l’action en concurrence déloyale), mais de l’article L.442-6-I-5° du Code de commerce. Ce contentieux très technique relève exclusivement des tribunaux de commerce.

« Qui trop embrasse mal étreint ». La compétence exclusive de juridictions spécialisées pour certains domaines du droit demandant une grande technicité est la garantie d’une jurisprudence plus stable et d’une meilleure prévisibilité pour les justiciables. Le revers de la médaille est la multiplication ou, comme en l’espèce, la division des procédures judiciaires en droit des affaires, quand bien même entre les mêmes parties, dès lors que les faits portent sur des actes aux bases légales sensiblement différentes. Mais c’est sans doute le prix à payer pour une justice de qualité.

© INSCRIPTA