Changes of name or address must be registered with IP offices

Published onMarch 2017

When a company changes its name or address, it is advisable to register said changes for all its trademarks, designs and patents with the IP registers in order to update the owner’s identification details for all industrial property titles.

This ensures an up-to-date and uniform portfolio of IP titles, and enables the owner to initiate both administrative and judicial procedures without having to deal with problems of urgent regularisation and/or facing procedural issues.

No doubt that some may bitterly regret not to have done this straightforward registration in due time, such as this Romanian company, which has seen its opposition declared inadmissible because it had not justified in due time its change of name and was unable to prove its entitlement, even after having exhausted the appeal procedures, including before the Court of Justice (General Court, 21 Apr. 2015 Case T-580/13 confirmed by ECJ, 8 Sept. 2016, Case C‑309/15 P).

These issues may seem to be ancillary and optional, but it would be overlooking that much of the cases both before the Offices and the Courts are won (or lost) not on substantive issues, but on procedural grounds. These questions constantly give rise to procedural issues, appeals, referrals to other courts, and multiply or complicate procedures, and sometimes considerably lengthen the timeline and increase the legal costs. Besides, as jurisprudence continually evolves, such delays may affect negatively the final decision (see for example here).

Registering as soon as possible any change or act affecting the entitlement, ownership or enjoyment of industrial property rights is strongly recommended to enable an effective and proper defence of one’s IP rights.

© INSCRIPTA

Changement de nom ou d'adresse ? Nécessité d'inscription sur les registres de propriété industrielle

Publié en mars 2017

Lorsqu’une société change de nom ou d’adresse, il est conseillé d’inscrire ces changements auprès des registres de marques, modèles et brevets afin de mettre à jour l’identité du titulaire pour l’ensemble des titres de propriété industrielle.

Ceci permet d’avoir un portefeuille de titres actualisé et homogène, et de pouvoir engager des procédures tant administratives que judiciaires sans avoir à régler des problèmes d’inscription dans l’urgence ou se trouver confronté à des difficultés procédurales.

C’est ce qu’aurait dû faire une société roumaine qui a vu son opposition à une demande de marque de l’Union européenne déclarée irrecevable pour n’avoir pu justifier dans les délais de son changement de dénomination et qui n’a pu faire reconnaître sa qualité à agir malgré la multiplication de ses recours à l’encontre de cette décision jusque devant la Cour de justice (TUE, 21 avr. 2015 aff. T-580/13, confirmée par CJUE 8 sept. 2016, aff. C‑309/15 P).

Ces questions d’inscription peuvent paraître accessoires et optionnelles, mais ce serait oublier qu’une grande partie des affaires tant devant les offices que devant les tribunaux se gagnent (ou se perdent) non sur le fond mais pour des raisons de procédures, qui conditionnent la recevabilité ou non de l’action. Ces questions donnent d’ailleurs constamment lieu à des incidents, renvois et autres recours qui allongent souvent considérablement les délais, sans parler des frais engagés, et parfois même des changements de jurisprudence qui peuvent intervenir entre temps et modifier une issue qu’on pensait pourtant acquise (Voir par exemple ici).

Inscrire au plus tôt toute modification ou acte affectant la titularité, la propriété ou la jouissance des droits de propriété industrielle est donc plus que recommandé pour permettre une défense efficace, et éviter le risque de voir son action déclarée irrecevable de ce chef.

© INSCRIPTA